Love Thine Enemy by Louise M. Gouge

Title: Love Thine Enemy
Author: Louise M. Gouge
Publisher: Harlequin– Love Inspired Historical
ISBN: 9780373828159
Release Date: July 2009
Format: PB
Genre: Inspirational Historical
Length: Novel
Rating: 4
During the American Revolution, Rachel Folger’s loyalties lie with the Boston patriots fighting for freedom from the Crown.  When a British plantation owner arrives in town, one who is loyal to the Crown, Rachel can’t deny her attaction—or her hesitance to get involved with a man who is against everything she believes in. When treacherous events come between the pair, Rachel and Frederick Moberly must uncover the traitor—to both their causes—and learn the rely on the love of God to show them true liberty.
First of all, I love that this book is set in central Florida. I love reading about my home state’s past, especially in war-time eras…which seems to be most of the time, pre-1900! Anyway, when I heard about this book I got in touch with Ms.  Gouge and begged for a review copy.
When I was a kid, I read a lot of Revolution-set inspirational romances. Must have been a trend in the early/mid 90’s or something! Reading Love Thine Enemy made me feel a little  nostalgic. The novel is well written, with a sincere message and compelling characters. I already know Ms.  Gouge is a great writer who has been blessed with an ability to reach readers through her novels, so I wasn’t disappointed!
I had a teensy bit of a hard time reading the novel, though. I can either blame this on the author or the fact that I’m an idiot and I tend to read a little too quickly. Now, this in no way  made like the book any less. At first I got the male characters confused. In fact, I had to look for whichever one was romantically attracted to  Rachel to figure out who the hero was at first.  Yes, I’m an idiot, so I’m going to take the fault  on this one…
Granted I’m used to reading ‘praire’ romances where the prose and dialogue is much more casual, so sometimes it was hard to clearly grasp what Ms. Gouge’s characters thought or said  or what was going on.  The book is written in a very formal  voice, so it definitely helps if the reader expects it. It’s a minor source of amusement to me how after reading so, so, so  very much ‘modern’  fiction and late-era historicals how drastic the  difference is in style from books set in early-era times, like Regency, Revolutionary, and even some Civil War periods! I give props to any author who successfully masters the ‘voice’ of those eras  in fiction writing!
So go ahead, if you enjoy reading historical romance set in a less-than-ordinary time! There seriously aren’t enough books set in early Florida. (Shameless plug– check out my book, Restoring Water, set in late 1800’s central FL, http://www.enterthemusehouse.net, available in print and ebook!).
Title: Love Thine Enemy
Author: Louise M. Gouge
Publisher: Harlequin– Love Inspired Historical
ISBN: 9780373828159
Release Date: July 2009
Format: PB
Genre: Inspirational Historical
Length: Novel
Rating: 4
Reviewer: ASH
During the American Revolution, Rachel Folger’s loyalties lie with the Boston patriots fighting for freedom from the Crown.  When a British plantation owner arrives in town, one who is loyal to the Crown, Rachel can’t deny her attaction—or her hesitance to get involved with a man who is against everything she believes in. When treacherous events come between the pair, Rachel and Frederick Moberly must uncover the traitor—to both their causes—and learn the rely on the love of God to show them true liberty.
First of all, I love that this book is set in central Florida. I love reading about my home state’s past, especially in war-time eras…which seems to be most of the time, pre-1900! Anyway, when I heard about this book I got in touch with Ms.  Gouge and begged for a review copy.
When I was a kid, I read a lot of Revolution-set inspirational romances. Must have been a trend in the early/mid 90’s or something! Reading Love Thine Enemy made me feel a little  nostalgic. The novel is well written, with a sincere message and compelling characters. I already know Ms.  Gouge is a great writer who has been blessed with an ability to reach readers through her novels, so I wasn’t disappointed!
I had a teensy bit of a hard time reading the novel, though. I can either blame this on the author or the fact that I’m an idiot and I tend to read a little too quickly. Now, this in no way  made like the book any less. At first I got the male characters confused. In fact, I had to look for whichever one was romantically attracted to  Rachel to figure out who the hero was at first.  Yes, I’m an idiot, so I’m going to take the fault  on this one…
Granted I’m used to reading ‘praire’ romances where the prose and dialogue is much more casual, so sometimes it was hard to clearly grasp what Ms. Gouge’s characters thought or said  or what was going on.  The book is written in a very formal  voice, so it definitely helps if the reader expects it. It’s a minor source of amusement to me how after reading so, so, so  very much ‘modern’  fiction and late-era historicals how drastic the  difference is in style from books set in early-era times, like Regency, Revolutionary, and even some Civil War periods! I give props to any author who successfully masters the ‘voice’ of those eras  in fiction writing!
So go ahead, if you enjoy reading historical romance set in a less-than-ordinary time! There seriously aren’t enough books set in early Florida. (Shameless plug– check out my book, Restoring Water, set in late 1800’s central FL, http://www.enterthemusehouse.net, available in print and ebook!).
Leave a Reply

