Special guest post by Margaret Blake!

Why Write Romance

“Why do you write romance?” is a question I am often asked. Sometimes it is asked in a condescending way, even patronizing, other times it is a genuine question. Sometimes I have been stuck for an answer. “Because I like romance,” I often say and then wonder if that truly is the reason.

Romance, we are told makes the world go round, so why not have books dedicated to romance? When I first started writing I wrote historical romance, romance was not essential to the plot but it was an element. Feeling like a change I started to write contemporary romance and found it really challenging and exciting. With romance you can travel to exotic places, you need not worry about money; you can be rich or merely comfortably off. I don’t write “Clogs and Shawl” novels, which are really popular, but when I write romance I like my hero and heroine to experience “conflict” and “passion” but don’t want them worrying about whether they can afford a loaf of bread! Writing romance is fun, as well as hard work. As many a romantic novelist will tell you, it is not easy to write a romantic novel!

Recently I have been trying my hand at romantic suspense. Here the romance is not the most important part of the book (just as with an historical romance) but it is certainly necessary. I have written four romantic suspense novels now and only one had things not turn out as the reader (or the author) expected.

My latest novel “A Fatal Flaw” is full of suspense and secrets but there is a dashing hero and an attractive heroine. Ooh, I thought, I hope these two get it together because I like them both. Do they? Well you will have to read the book to see.

“Why do I write romance” it’s fun to write, it’s challenging and isn’t there enough misery in the world without my adding to it? Let’s smile, let’s hear wonderful music, and let love overcome all. Isn’t it what we all dream about anyway?

A Fatal Flaw
Published by
http://www.whiskeycreekpress.com

Photobucket

10 thoughts on “Special guest post by Margaret Blake!

  1. Thanks India and Stephanie for stopping by. It is an odd question, India but one I am frequently asked!

    Glad you liked the last paragraph Stephanie, that really is my mantra!

    Cheers, Margaret.

  2. I find that such an odd question. Everyone I’ve ever met has, or wants to, experience love. It’s a part of our nature. Even the books I write that aren’t primarily romance-focused have some element of that in them, simply because I would find it hard to write about a human being without somehow including who (or how) they love.

  3. That’s so right, John. Even the though writers like Patterson have a little romance. And who can ever forget Harry Bosch, I just wish he could find the right woman!

    Iknow you have a little romance in your excellent thrillers, John. I am sure you have many women readers because of that, but not ONLY because of that, if you catch my drift.

    My husband would often read “romance” he was my eyes and ears on the romance market, as you can;’ read everything out there otherwise you wouldn’t ever write anything. There is nothing disparaging about men reading romance, I am sure many men loved the film Sleepless in Seattle and you can’t get more romantic than that!

  4. And, apparently, a lot of people enjoying reading them–including many men, who’d be the last to admit it. Romance is part of life and the writer who doesn’t include at least some element of it in his work isn’t likely to endure.

  5. Thanks, Margaret, nice to hear from you.
    LK I don’t think you would like these clogs, they had nails, or some such steel substance on the sole. Men worse them too, and would dance and cause them to spark on the stone floor. Nowadays “clog dancing” is quite an art in the North of England. I wore them when I was a little kid but they weren’t comfortable, if I remember rightly.

  6. Hi Margaret,
    Good blog. Yes, romance certainly does make the world go around And for pure escapism you can’t beat a romance, be it sweet, historical, suspense. Romance is romance in my eyes.
    Regards

    Margaret

  7. Hi Margaret, “clogs and shawl” novels? I thought I was up on my terminology, but you’ve lost me with that one. Old fashioned? Light and shuffling?

    Yes, romance is even in horrors and mysteries and everything else under the sun, and everyone wants it, so why the big turn-off/condescension?

    Lovely cover!

    • Hi LK, sorry about the clogs and shawls, its an English description. It really means the hard times before the first world war and up to the second. The poor who worked in the mills wore “clogs” and shawls that’s where the description comes from. It really covers poverty but generally with light at the end of the tunnel.

Leave a Reply

