Victoria Blisse interview!

 

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I’ve always loved writing and making up stories, just ask my mum. I was always playing pretend as a child and as soon as I could write I would write stories to entertain myself.  So really, I’ve wanted to be a writer as long as I’ve been alive. An author was always my dream career that I’d mention but never think I’d ever be one and look at me now.  Okay, I’m rich and famous yet but that’s really secondary to the satisfaction of writing and having people read my stuff.

How long does it take you to write a book?

Well, it depends what I’m writing and that doesn’t necessarily just mean length. If the force is with me I can knock out a 15-20k story in a week but other times I can struggle to write a short story within a month.  And then of course I’m one of these mad people who attempt NaNoWriMo in November each year and that involves writing 50 000 words in a month!

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

I write in the mornings every day, or as near to that as I can manage. So I tend to get up between 5.30 and 6am and write for a few hours before I have to get my daughter up for school. When I have a deadline I will write through the day too but I always work best in the morning.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Well I love to bake, it’s relaxing for me and sewing too either hand sewing or embroidery or getting to grips with a bigger project sewn on my machine. I also love to read, I don’t think you’d find an author who doesn’t and I have a particular fondness for fantasy books and authors like Terry Pratchett and David Gemmell.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

I do hear back from my readers a lot actually, sometimes by email (there’s a contact me form on victoriablisse.co.uk) but often via either facebook  or twitter as I am frequently on both. So if there’s anyone out there who’d like to get in touch you can friend me at: http://www.facebook.com/victoriablisse

Or you can tweet with me at:

http://www.twitter.com/victoriablisse

I love to interact with people. A good chat can really brighten up a person’s day. I get lots of lovely compliments and the odd request for bookmarks and things. I always send signed bookmarks to anyone who asks nicely!

What do you think makes a good story?

Emotion.

Okay, that’s a bit of a short answer but that is what makes a good story. It needs to provoke emotion in the reader which means you need to believe in the characters and care for them. The best books make you laugh and cry and nod in agreement and make your blood boil with anger and your heart ache with loss. Good writing is all about that emotional rollercoaster.

How did you come up with the title of your latest work?

Ah, titles. I am rubbish with titles and my secret weapon is my husband, he comes up with all my best titles. In fact he dreamed one of them. One morning he was telling me all about a weird dream he’d had where he was a vampire serving at a bar called “The Point” and suddenly he’d not only named my vampire book, he’d named the bar in it.

And now Stopping Point comes from the same source. My husband is awesome. I might rent him out for a reasonable sum of money to write people’s titles for them.

Please can you tell us a little about your latest release or upcoming books?

I certainly can, Stopping Point is Book two in my Point Vamp series and here’s the blurb:

Josh is a vampire he just doesn’t quite know it yet.

He is confused and his voluptuous sire, Cara is far too busy being mysterious to really help him unlock the secrets of his Afterlife. However, he pieces it together by himself and decides to turn his best mates into Vampires too. This doesn’t quite go to plan but he does discover The Point and its unique, ten-second rule.

Cara does not approve of Josh visiting The Point but that night she turns up at his door bloodied and much more dead than usual, and accepts Josh’s help to escape from her much older and much crazier Sire Leopold. How is Josh going to defeat an older, wiser and more powerful vampire? He hasn’t a clue but for Cara he is willing to find out.

I’ve discovered rather a love of vampires!

It’s available from Total-E-Bound now: http://www.total-e-bound.com/product.asp?strParents=&CAT_ID=&P_ID=951

Thanks for having me!

Leave a Reply

