A interview with Savannah Kougar!

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

You would think this would be simple to answer. However, before I had that deep *I want to write* feeling, I was about fourteen and I asked myself what career path I wanted most. At the time, I was pondering my future and looking at several choices. Anyway, the spooky part, I heard inside my head, “You’re going to be a writer.”

How long does it take you to write a book?

It really varies, depending on length and the type of story. For example, it took me about three months to write my sci fi shapeshifter novella, Red Lioness Tamed. Basically, my heroine, Sun Rocket’s story charged out of me. It was just so darn fun to write.

On the other hand, it took me about a year to write my western menage, Branded by the Texans, partly because of the novel length. But, also because delving into four characters rather than just the heroine and hero requires much more thought, time and concentration.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

These days it’s ragged. Between promo-ing and author biz, omygawd, it’s tough to get that quiet block of time I need. Right now, I’m closing in on the end of another mid-sized novel and I try to get some good writing done everyday. After all, my witch heroine must destroy her enemies and decide on her future. Return to her birth planet or stay with her hellhound heroes.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

Hmmmm… in my books? Or when I’m writing? Some would say my whole book is a unique quirk. I also don’t use ‘said’ as a dialogue tag. When I’m writing I often listen to internet paranormal radio shows, if that’s a quirk.

When did you write your first book?

If you mean a completed manuscript, when I was seventeen. I won’t go into those gory details. In 1997, I finished a book titled, Savage Gameswoman, that was offered for sale at Hardshell. This was with the original owners of the website and before e-publishing came about as it is now. My aristocratic fantasy, All Shades of Blue Paradise, was the first book I finished and was subsequently e-published by Siren Publishing, now Siren-BookStrand Publishing.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

One of my favorite things to do is play with my doggies and simply enjoy my out-in-the-country surroundings, my tame prairie. I find I love nature more and more. Whenever I can manage it, I do a bit of gardening. These days, you could say I’m darn uninteresting. 

What does your family think of your writing?

My mom is supportive and happy for me. Unfortunately, the rest of my family could care less, and basically they ignore my success.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

How important crafting a book is, at times. The idea, the vision of my story gives me wings. The love/passion story between my heroines and heroes feeds my heart and soul. However, to paint the word picture of my vision, what occurs in my imagination, and the love story I’m creating, can be tough as pulling those poor hen’s teeth. It has required I that constantly learn how to craft in better ways.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

I’ll assume you mean published books. Currently, I have nine ebooks available. Four of my books are also in print. Branded by the Texans has just been released in print. And, I have a short story, The Tiger’s Masquerade, in an anthology, Just Another ParaNormal Halloween, that was just released as an ebook and in print.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

Actually, I hear wonderful things from other authors more than I do readers. Lindsay Townsend, a marvelous historical romance author with Siren-BookStrand and Kensington, has written an Author Discovery for two of my books. She is particularly fond of When a Good Angel Falls.

I know some authors get a lot of good emails from their readers. However, when I do hear from a reader, so far *knock on wood* it’s always been overwhelmingly positive. I can only point to the fact that I do receive ‘5′ ratings from readers and my books sell. Two of them are bestsellers with Siren-BookStrand.

What do you think makes a good story?

Hmmm, always the good question, isn’t it? There’s all sorts of theories and advice out there — what’s right, what doesn’t work. I go on writerly instinct, or what FEELS right to me. I’ve read romance novels since I was thirteen, so that’s my basic background when I create my paranormal erotic romances. In my stories I focus on the evolving relationship between my heroines and heroes. Often, it’s the battle of the sexes. I love writing about their intimate interactions with each other, whether it’s physical {sex, passion, erotic}, emotional, mind-to-mind, or spiritual.

What fascinates me about people in love, or falling in love, is how they relate to each other moment by moment. Or, how they make that journey toward love. I’ve always adored watching couples and I quiz them about how and when they fell in love, and why they are still in love.

Also, action, adventure and suspense make a good story for me. I always think of the movies, Raiders of the Lost Ark or Star Wars. So, yeah, if you don’t like action/adventure love stories… no, I’m not your author.

Who is your favorite author and why?

I never answer this question because I don’t have a favorite author. I have many, many authors in fiction and non-fiction, that are my overall favorites. Actually, I just love authors, in general.

How did you come up with the title?

Book titles are like magic to me, especially titles for romance novels. I want to feel that magic when I title my own books. A lot of them have arrived during that twilight time before I fall asleep, or when I’m awakening. In fact, I dreamed my title, All Shades of Blue Paradise. In the dream I kept hearing ‘all shades of blue’ and I saw my heroine as she entered the hero’s mansion to meet with him. She wore a chic blue dress. I knew he still loved her, but she no longer loved him. I knew, also, this was a ‘blue’ world, similar to Earth, but in another dimension.

Sometimes, the title arrives like a flash of light inside my head. There it is, either the full title, or one that will lead me to the final title I choose. Recently, I finished a sci fi shapeshifter short story with the working title, Weightless and Wanted. But, that didn’t say it. My final title arrived as I worked on the story ~ Weightless Inside His Wings.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I am so, so grateful for you. Becoming an author has been a long and difficult journey for me. In part, this is because I don’t write traditionally. I take chances. I experiment. I often create to the beat of a different drum. And, my writing style is one that some love, and others can’t stand. So, while I do try to make my promos entertaining, I won’t try to convince you to read one of my books. I’ll just give you the info, blurb, and excerpt. And, of course, I’ll answer any questions you have. 

Please can you tell us a little about your latest release or upcoming books?

Currently, I’m headed toward the finish line for my latest paranormal erotic romance. ~Kandy Apple and Her Hellhounds~ will most likely be my next submission. I say ‘most likely’ because more than once life has done a one eighty on me. Still, that’s the plan, Sam. And, I’m sticking to it.

My witchy heroine was inspired by all the *real witch* books I’ve read over the years, the first being The Diary of a Witch by Sybil Leek. She was also inspired by Samantha in the TV series, Bewitched. And of course, I added in, the three witches in the TV series, Charmed.

Yet, my heroine is none of those. Kandace, or Kandy Apple, is completely, independently unto herself. In appearance, thought, and in action.

~~~

Sneak Peak *Unedited* Blurb and Excerpt from my WIP ~ Kandy Apple and Her Hellhounds

Blurb ~

What happens when two of Hades’ most mission-accomplished Hellhounds find just the right witch for Halloween?

Excerpt ~

“You’re an Enduoir witch,” they chorused together, their gazes eerily intense.

“What the hell is that?” Kandace’s anger sparked through her. Swivelling her head back and forth, she glared at them both.

“Before we explain I believe introductions are in order, don’t you?” Mr. Evening Suit arched a brow in the same style as Cary Grant. With debonair ease, he placed his martini glass on a nearby tray.

Kandace did a double take, emotionally. “Fine, introductions. Who are you?”

“I am Zindale David Victorre, or Zin for short, and this is my twin brother.” With controlled elegance, he gestured to Mr. Tuxedo Man.

“I am Zolivar Dean Victorre. Zol for short. May we know your name?” He placed his glass next to his brother’s. His gaze remained on her, polite, but volcanic.

The entire scene would have tickled Kandace silly, if she hadn’t been on guard and wondering if they did actually know her true heritage. Could it be they had the answers she hadn’t been able to find?

“Kandace Sylvia Winter.” She’d decided to tell them her real name. What did it ultimately matter with these two, anyway? It wasn’t as though they couldn’t find out.

Their gazes snapped together as if they’d been struck by a sudden revelation. Kandace almost giggled because of the cartoon-like absurdity. Course, she hadn’t been around twins much, so who knew how they behaved with each other.

“Is something wrong?” she prompted.

“Kandy. Is that your nickname?” Zindale’s gaze glowed.

Kandace swore she witnessed blue flames leap for a split second in the depths of his eyes.  Okay, now she really wanted to know who and what they were.

“Yes, since you ask. Oh, I get it now.” After giving her hair a shake, she raised one shoulder in an attitude of indifference. “Kandy Apple, my nickname, especially around Halloween.”

“Is that why you’re wearing that deliciously sexy red dress?” Zol let her know by his slow perusal of her body, he found her attractive, to say the effing least.

“I like the color.  I’m also fond of candy apples. Make of that what you will.” Kandace tipped up her glass, draining it. There really was no defense against their lustful imaginings. She certainly didn’t have to take a mental peek to know the  direction of their thoughts.

“We want to lick Kandy Apple for Halloween,” they rasped together.

Their voices were such polished restraint, Kandace didn’t spin around and leave. She didn’t gaze directly at them, either. We, they’d said we. Nope, she wasn’t going down that rabbit hole by asking what they meant.

Dammit, hole. Obviously, they both wanted her sex hole. No wonder those women had dreamy expressions. Two, two, at once. Oh, Goddess, why was she remembering the stupid Doublemint twins? Okay, she had seen a YouTube vid of the old commercial recently because a friend had e-mailed it.

“No, you are not licking this Kandy Apple for Halloween. I’ll send you some real candy apples.”

Why were her feet super-glued to the floor? Hell, why did her skin burn with what could only be described as raunchy desire? Frakking-crap, why didn’t one of them say something before she crushed her glass? “I believe I’m in need of another drink.”

~~~~~~

Savanna

Savanna Kougar ~ Run on the Wild Side of Romance ~ 

http://savannakougar.com ~ http://bookstrand.com/savanna-kougar ~

Author of ~

The Tiger’s Masquerade ~ Just Another ParaNormal Halloween Anthology ~ Available at MojoCastle Press ~ http://mojocastle.com/ParaHalloween.html ~

Branded by the Texans ~ In Print ~ A Siren-BookStrand bestseller ~ http://bookstrand.com/branded-by-the-texans ~

Stallion of Ash and Flame ~ In Print ~ http://bookstrand.com/stallion-of-ash-and-flame ~

Her Insatiable Dark Heroes ~ In Print ~ A Siren-BookStrand bestseller ~ http://bookstrand.com/her-insatiable-dark-heroes ~

Black Cat Beauty ~ http://liquidsilverbooks.com/books/blackcatbeauty.htm ~

Murder by Hair Spray in Gardenia, New Atlantis ~ In Print  ~ http://bookstrand.com/murder-by-hair-spray-in-gardenia-new-atlantis ~

Tangerine Carnal Dreams ~ http://tinyurl.com/6vu6hm ~

When a Good Angel Falls ~ In Print ~ A former #1 at Siren-BookStrand ~ http://bookstrand.com/when-a-good-angel-falls ~

Red Lioness Tamed ~ http://liquidsilverbooks.com/books/redlionesstamed.htm ~

All Shades of Blue Paradise ~ http://bookstrand.com/all-shades-of-blue-paradise ~

~~~~~~

2 thoughts on “A interview with Savannah Kougar!

Leave a Reply

