An Interview with Faith V. Smith!

We had the great opportunity to interview Faith V. Smith, an author with Wild Rose Press! Here’s what she had to say to our questions.

 

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I think I knew I wanted to write when I was in the sixth grade, way back when computers were a fantasy.

How long does it take you to write a book?

I love this question. My first book took over seven years. Yes, that’s right. I started it in 1995 but due to family problems, I shelved it for five years. When I started back I had just bought by first computer. After that it took me two more years to finish. I have to say though, I didn’t write like I do know. It wasn’t a hobby, but it wasn’t something I would do all the time.

Now, this year, I’ve written two full-length romance novels, as well as a much shorter ebook. I do plan to finish one more book this year. The main thing to remember, I think, is that you write the book until it’s finished. Anything less is cheating yourself, your characters, and your readers.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

I prefer to write in the early morning and then after ten at night.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I need sound when I write. I like listening to old reruns on television.  I’m sure I have other quirks, but can’t think of any right now. Sorry.

When did you write your first book?

I finished the first one in 2002.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I like to read, watch Disney movies, and action films, plus just chill.

What does your family think of your writing?

My daughter Is very supportive of my writing. My husband passed away before my first book was published. I have a great support group with friends, and although all my family is happy about my writing, my brother has always been one of my biggest fans.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

That’s easy. That my characters love to talk to me even when I am busy.  At one time, I’ve had characters from two different books giving me dialogue. I’m not crazy…lol. I’ve actually talked to other authors who say their characters talk to them also.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

At the moment, I’ve written eight complete books. I have about 18 more in various stages, and my mind is constantly throwing out new plots…lol.

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

I do hear from my readers.  They seem pleased with my work and for that I am very grateful. Without readers, authors would be nowhere in my opinion.

What do you think makes a good story?

I think it’s a combination of several ingredients. Well-developed characters, a plot that excites readers and make them want to turn the pages, and a romance that will give you happy ever after. In real life that is not always the case.

Who is your favorite author and why?

There is no way to answer that question. I love so many authors work. I will say this much, Angela Knight has always told me to hang in there, not to give up, as did Karen Robards. I have been blessed so much with published authors being my friends and lifting me up.

How did you come up with the title?

My titles tend to come from the heroes turmoil more than anything.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes, I do! I want to thank my readers. Without  readers, there would be no reason to write. Don’t get me wrong, I love to write, but I like the idea that something I write might touch readers.  Thank you readers for keeping me doing what I do and loving it!

Can you tell us a little about your latest release or upcoming books?

This year “Dunbar’s Curse,” the second book in my “Bound By Blood, The Legends,” series was released. A series about vampires in Savannah, Ga. “Viking, Go Home,” a time travel was also released.  Next year the third book in the vampire series will be out as well as another time travel.

Leave a Reply

