An interview with Alison Chambers!

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

When I was a teenager.  I started reading  Nancy Drew books and enjoyed the stories so much I wanted to write my own.  Those books instilled a life-long love of mystery in me.  It’s the same way I knew I wanted to play the piano.  I watched others play and knew it was what I wanted to do.

How long does it take you to write a book?

About six months plus another one to two months for editing and re-drafting.  I usually do about three drafts of each book.

What is your work schedule like when you’re writing?

I work on my publicity/marketing efforts in the morning; then write all afternoon.

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?

I am a “night writer.”  When I’m having a problem with the plot or stuck with the description of a particular scene or character, I wake up in the middle of the night and resolve the issues.  It seems my brain is freer at that time and I’m able to write with more clarity.  I wrote a blog about this strange phenomenon on my website called “Mastering the Muse at Midnight.”

When did you write your first book?

I was eighteen years old and wrote a spy novel that was a lot of fun.  I created my own spy organization-kind of a James Bond thing–and had fun with the plot and adding romance to it.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

I like to read, travel, go to movies, watch Green Bay Packer football, play piano, and do all kinds of word puzzles which helps keep me sharp.

What does your family think of your writing?

Family and friends have always been extremely supportive and have attended all my book signings and given me great feedback.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

I first started writing short stories and never thought I could write a full-length book and come up with enough plot, so I was amazed when I actually completed the first one when I was a teenager and it was nearly 300 pages!  Then I was hooked.

How many books have you written? Which is your favorite?

I have written seven books overall and have almost finished the eighth.  I am planning on making them all available as e-books on Amazon.com.  I have enjoyed each one, but am really enjoying writing the current book I am working on, entitled “The Virgo Secret.”

Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?

My readers have called my plots “intriguing”, have said they enjoy my style of writing, and have compared me to Nora Roberts.  They have also asked me to create a series based on ““The Secret Sentinel” currently available from The Wild Rose Press, which I am doing.  I have received some nice feedback and am grateful for that.  It’s been very inspiring.

What do you think makes a good story?

Good characters people care about, an intriguing plot that moves along without getting bogged down with unnecessary description or backstory, and a few surprises along the way.  Keep the reader guessing so they keep turning the pages!

Who is your favorite author and why?

Dan Brown because he always has me intrigued.  I love history, mystery, and his fast-paced plots.  I can usually read his books in one or two sittings and can’t wait for the next one!

How did you come up with the title?

I usually select a title based on what I feel is the main thrust of the story, in other words, the most important thing that the plot revolves around. 

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I want to thank them for all their nice comments and always hope that I can keep them entertained with a good story and fun characters.  That’s my goal.  Please visit me and send me your comments or comment on my blog at my website:  http://www.alisonchambersromance.com

Can you tell us a little about your latest release or upcoming books?

“The Secret Sentinel” is available now from The Wild Rose Press.  Here’s a short blurb:

Three lost keys to untold riches. Three cryptic rhymes. A secret society’s deadly plot. When museum curator Savannah Rutledge steals her father’s treasure map to impress her boss, Winston Gale, and his handsome son Eric, she unleashes a Pandora’s box of horror. Her father is killed and she is framed for murder. To atone for her father’s death, she sets off on a cross-country chase for the treasure that ends with a dangerous showdown in the Superstition Mountains near Phoenix. To get there she and a sexy stranger, Antonio Desada, follow a perplexing trail of clues that lead them to the keys that will unlock the mystery.  Will Savannah find the treasure—and love–before it’s too late?  Five Stars and a Top Pick-Night Owl Reviews; Four Stars-The Romance Studio
Available from The Wild Rose Press.  www.thewildrosepress.com

Here’s a blurb from my next book “The Montezuma Secret” available soon from Amazon.com:

Hunky Trey Zacco, gritty survivalist and host of the Miami-based Holiday Channel’s hit “Wildman” series and glitz and glamour girl, Erica Kingsley, host of the channel’s “Lap of Luxury” show, are thrown together in the steamy jungles of Belize as a publicity stunt. Erica’s father, Arthur Kingsley, the owner of the Holiday Channel, has proposed the angle, not only to boost ratings, but also as a way to toughen up his spoiled daughter. And Kingsley wants them to search for Montezuma’s lost gold, presumably moved to Belize from the Guatemalan jungle. Zacco cannot hide his resentment at having to share the spotlight with the flighty fashionista Erica, and he locks horns with her every step of the way even as both try to ignore the strong physical attraction growing between them. But when Arthur Kingsley’s plane goes down in the jungle on his way to film the opening of the show, Trey and Erica launch a desperate search to find him. And when, one by one, members of the camera crew are killed and the equipment sabotaged, Trey and Erica find themselves stranded in the middle of the jungle with sultry producer Morgana Montez, Trey’s ex-lover, where no rescue crew can reach them.

And here’s a sneak peak at “The Virgo Secret”:

Three Dead Men.  Three Missing Cornerstones.  One Deadly Terrorist Plot.  Alexis McHenry is kidnapped while searching for her missing father, who was researching  the mysterious Virgo Stone.  She is offered a deal:  find the Virgo Stone in ten days.  If she succeeds, her father will be released.  If she fails, her father will be killed and massive terrorist attacks will be unleashed on Washington, DC during the Presidential Inauguration.  A sexy masked stranger accompanies her as her bodyguard to make sure she does not escape while they follow a trail of cryptic clues hidden in Boston and Washington.  But who is this mysterious man and just what is he hiding?  When his identity becomes suspect, Alexis wonders, is he only her jailer or something more?

Coming in 2011 from Amazon.com!

Leave a Reply

