Fan-girl-squee-ing over Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series

24580531 copy

I don’t do too many of these posts. I read SO much, it’s almost impossible to keep up with everything I read. I have books stacked chest high in the hallways, on tables, overflowing multiple bookcases, on any flat surface available. My poor Kindle app on my phone contains THOUSANDS of books.

Every once in a while, a book catches my eyes. Actually, an ad on Facebook (who knew people actually paid attention to those sidebar ads?) caught my eye. It was for a indiegogo thing, this one, actually…

I know I’m a little late to this party–the series has been out for a while (since 2010). Since I love anything fairy/faery related, and I love good YA fiction, I grabbed the series off Amazon and started reading. Managed to read the first 3 full books last night, obsessively. Couldn’t put them down. LOVED them. Loved the characters. Doesn’t happen in YA too often, for me, personally. I hate getting chest-deep into a good YA series, and suddenly, the heroine goes duuurrrrrrhhh and starts making stupid, stupid decisions, all based on luuuuuuuv (I can’t get the underline to go away, sorry).

Kagawa’s characters are unique because they are smart. They make GOOD choices. Meghan doesn’t fall apart when her man walks away. She doesn’t sit in a chair and wait for somebody to rescue her. She goes after her man. I also love, love, love that these books don’t contain a love triangle, with some smitten girl moaning and griping over who she loves more. There are a few chapters where Meghan has to make a choice, but it’s not really even a choice, because she knows who she loves, and who she sees as a friend.

I just can’t reiterate how much I loved that the characters were intelligent. Like, real-life intelligent. You don’t see that much in YA fiction. The relationships between characters were amazing. I loved the variety of characters and the way faery mythology is woven into the story without becoming info-dumps.

The books are full of action and adventure, romance that feels like so much more than ordinary teenage crushes. The story itself is epic and sweeping. With a lot of series the spread over several books, usually by the third or so, there’s really nowhere else the story can go without reading like a Mary-Sue-ed fanfiction of itself. Thankfully, we don’t have that issue with the Iron Fey series. Every book has a new adventure, and it makes sense in the world Kagawa has woven. There is no reprieve from the overall threat, and all the minor ones add in to create an unrelenting tension throughout the series that just pushes the reader on and on. At least it did with me. I read the first three books in a matter of hours! I’m halfway through Iron Knight and loving it as well (note: just finished it. Cried through the whole damn book!) This series is more than just 3 books about a dumb teen chick and her love-triangle boyfriends set in a generic fantasy world; it’s got a life of it’s own. I totally just love how the characters grow up in the books–they start out at teenagers (sort of, if you can count immortal fey as teens…) and evolve. We follow Meghan through her journey from pig-farmer to queen and beyond. It’s got everything a fairy-tale lover would want. There’s no anticlimactic “and they lived happily ever after, the end” moment.

I found only ONE thing that I didn’t like all that much. At the end of book 3, there’s a brief epilogue that switches from Meghan’s POV to Ash’s. It felt a little awkward to me. it didn’t exactly lead into book 4, even though book 4 is in Ash’s POV.

So this is definitely a series you should check out. I can’t say enough about it. It’s beautiful, fantastic, amazing, and wonderfully written.

Ms. Kagawa, if you need any more additions to your army of bloggers, count me in! ritesofromance (at) gmail . com!

Leave a Reply

