Mate of the Alpha by Marie Mason

Title: Mate of the Alpha

Author: Marie Mason

Publisher: Marie Mason

Ebook ISBN: 9781310442612

Release Date: December 2013

Format: Ebook

Genre: Paranormal, Shifters, Were Wolf

Length: Novella

Rating: 3 1/2 lyres

Reviewer: GJM

Unsolicited review

Blurb: Ethan Scott was reluctant to claim his mate, Lily Reynolds. He was afraid his carnal needs would be too much for the curvy innocent. His wolf was of another mind, pushing the man relentlessly to mate. But Ethan knew once he had the brown-haired beauty there would no turning back. He’d claim her, mate her, and bred her. When she’s attacked by a group of rouge wolves, Ethan fears he has left his claiming too late and will lose his mate forever. When he comes to her rescue, he discovers the spirited Lily is more than ready to be the mate of an alpha.

Let me start by saying I actually liked this novella and had it hit my desk as a submission chances are I’d of recommended accepting it for my publisher however that being said there were a few things that needed a little work.

I quickly fell into the storyline and the characters managed to engage me and keep my interest. The story flowed easily and smoothly. Ethan was your typical Alpha wolf with a caveman mentality and Lily had a few insecurities about her body but that all worked in well and made them both more believable.

Now here’s where I had a few problems there were a few basic spelling errors maybe Ms Mason didn’t think an editor was required or maybe spell check had taken the day off. I had a problem with rouge wolves; now, were they in fact French, and if rouge is French for “red,”  were they make-up wearing wolves? Although I’m guessing they were actually rogue wolves. Ethan had wondering hands instead of wandering hands. In another instance, “reminded” was used instead of “remained.” As I said, simple basic spelling errors.

Overall, however, I did enjoy the story and would have given it a higher rating if not for the few spelling  issues.

Leave a Reply

